Author Spotlight: DC Gomez

This week’s author is DC Gomez. She’s an amazing woman who I had the pleasure of meeting at an event I’m very fond of. I’d been curious about her books for awhile. It wasn’t until I attended an reading at the event that I tipped over the edge and bought an entire series from her. She’s very talented.

Her Books (Click book photos to buy):

Death's Intern (The Intern Diaries Book 1) by [D. C. Gomez]

What would you do if Death knocked at your door? For Isis, it was the day her whole life changed.The day retired Army vet Isis Black accidentally knocks a man off a crowded fire escape at a wild party is the day she can’t seem to forget. But when she answers her door to Death standing on the other side with a job offer, she is convinced she’s stuck in a dream she can’t wake from–or maybe a nightmare.
Given three days to decide if she’ll take the position as Death’s Intern for North America, Isis has no idea what to do. On one hand, her life has no purpose and she spends most of her time alone. But working for Death … well, that is ludicrous and somewhat terrifying.
But when Isis’s only friend Bob goes missing, she finds a new focus unlike anything she’s ever experienced before. On top of that, someone is stealing innocents’ souls and sabotaging Death’s efforts to get them to their afterlife.
Is Isis willing to work with Death, a talking cat, and a boy genius to save Bob and all the hopeless souls that are missing?

*** This is a story of courage and a chase to save humanity. Fans of The Dresden Files and Good Omens will fall in love with the Intern Diaries.

The Origins of Constantine: An Intern Diaries Novella (The Intern Diaries) by [D. C. Gomez]

When the god Anubis needed a friend, the universe sent him the most unlikely companion: a feisty little cat.

Discover how the infamous five-thousand-year-old talking cat, Constantine of the Intern Diaries, became a permanent fixture in the life of Death.

This fast-paced, action-packed Novella will have you turning the page and falling in love with the most unlikely of duos.

The Cat Lady Special (The Cat Lady Series Book 1) by [D. C. Gomez]

What would you do if you had nothing to lose?

Angela has reached the end of her rope. Bills are piling up, money is sparse, and her two-timing ex-husband traded her in for a “Barbie” lookalike. Depression and lack of hope put her in a world filled with never-ending pain, and when she loses the one thing she has left—her will to live—she knows there’s nothing left to go back to. Until an unexpected knock on her door wakes her up.

The lonely, sad cat lady comes face to face with a new and exciting opportunity, if only she grabs the bull by the horns and accepts. When she does, she learns of a crazy family secret, but she also finds a way to save herself, and the people she loves most.

The Cat Lady Special is a story of second chances, discovering your inner savior, and of finding hope in the most unexpected places. It will appeal to fans of “How Stella Got her Groove Back” and “Breaking Bad.”

Another World (Another World Trilogy Book 1) by [D. C. Gomez]

Bullied, unwanted and alone, Madison can’t wait to get out of New York City. In a last ditch effort to save her life, she takes a plunge down a garbage chute to get away from her tormentors. What she never expects is to be dropped in the middle of a whole new world.
The only thing she ever wanted was to escape her depressing life, and now that she did, she will stop at nothing to get back to it. Knights and witches are her constant company, and if that isn’t crazy enough, the horses in the world of Pardisium talk.
But escaping isn’t as easy as she thought, and the way home won’t be available for a while. With no other option, she might as well make the best of her vacation away from home.
In this coming of age young adult novel, follow Madison while she makes all kinds of trouble in Pardisium. Fans of Merlin and Alice and Wonderland will be delighted by this magical journey.

From Eugene With Love: An Intern Diaries Novella (The Intern Diaries) by [D. C. Gomez]

When his merchandise is stolen and his colleague kidnapped, Eugene only has one choice: to call on Death’s team.

Eugene and his colleagues at Pestilence’s lab have lost another dangerous drug, but this time the stakes are higher than ever. A group of highly organized werewolves have the merchandise, and they are distributing it to everyone they can in Texarkana. The overdoses are at an all-time high.

Thankfully, he has friends in high places, and when he calls on Death’s team, they answer. However, Constantine the five-thousand-year-old talking cat, Bartholomew the boy genius, and their massive underground network system have less than twenty-four hours to find the werewolves. Otherwise, people will start dying, and this time, they won’t stop…

About DC Gomez:

D. C. Gomez

D. C. Gomez is a USA Today Bestselling Author, born in the Dominican Republic and grew up in Salem, Massachusetts. She study film and television at New York University. After college she joined the US Army, and proudly served for four years.

Those experiences shaped her quirky sense of humor. D.C. has a love for those who served and the families that support them. She currently lives in the quaint city of Wake Village, Texas, with her furry roommate, Chincha.

Interview with DC Gomez:

Tell us about the books you’ve published so far. Can you tell us about some of your upcoming novels?

The first thing I think everyone needs to know about my books is that I write in multiple genres. This is something a lot of writers avoid, but I really enjoy it. It fits with my personality and passion, I’m never bored. My books range from Urban Fantasy, children’s books, middle school, women’s lit and even devotionals. With every book that I write, my goal is always to engage the readers and provide them with the best experience that I can create.

I currently have four different series in the works. The Intern Diaries is my Urban Fantasy series that is fully completed with five novels and 3 novellas. This one is based on the four horsemen of the apocalypse and takes place in Texas. The Cat Lady Special is my fiction work, dealing with a depressed cat lady turns arms dealers. For my middle school readers, I’m working on my Another World trilogy. In this trilogy, we follow the adventures of Madison as she ends in another world while trying to escape her tormentors in NYC.  Charlie’s Fables is my series for elementary students focus on providing inspiration and motivation for young kids.

What can readers expect for me? I’m currently in the process of working on several new series. One is a spin-off of the Intern Diaries. One of my secondary character, Eric, leaves the Reapers’ Team in Texarkana and joins the Order of Witches to hunt a group of rouge witches that betrayed them.

I’m also introducing a brand new series, The Elisha and Elijah Chronicles, set in a post-apocalyptic time. A war between humans and witches brought the world to destruction, now everyone co-exist in a pseudo peaceful manner. At least that’s what Elisha believed. Elisha is one of the most powerful witches alive and lives with her familiar, Elijah (a necromancer kitty).

Did I mentioned I like to write fun quirky characters? If you enjoy adventure, and lots of madness: I’m your girl.

What was the moment you knew you wanted to be an author?

Being an author is probably a recent development for me. I knew since high school that I was meant to be a story-teller. My dad jokes about the fact I have been creating insane tales all my life. But I went to college for filmmaking, and spent most of my time writing scripts and short stories. Like many people, one of the item in my bucket list was to write a novel. After many years talking about I finally decided to take the leap four years ago. I’m an avid reader, so the magic of books just captivating. After finishing Death’s Intern (book 1 in the Intern Diaries), I was hooked. I felt in love with the creation process, the freedom and flexibility that comes with writing books.

What are some things you do to overcome doubts about your writing?

Doubts are very common for all creative individuals. Many of us even suffer from the imposter syndrome. For me, I had to learn to “Do it Afraid.” One of my mentor shared this quote and it truly changed the way I saw things. I didn’t have to try to overcome the doubts, fears or insecurities; instead I acknowledged them and kept on moving. When those thoughts hit me, I focused on the process.

Have any actual life experiences reflected in your writing? 

My writing incorporates many of my experiences, as well as those around me. I take notes of jokes that I heard, stories people tell me, interesting places I visit, and people I met. My pulling from my life, I’m able to create stories that people can relate and feel like they are part of them. It’s probably one of the reason I love writing urban fantasy (UF). I can take real places and insert magic to create a unique experiences. For most of the locations in my UF stories are places that I have either lived at or visited.

Who was your easiest character to write about and why? What was your hardest and why?

This is such a hard question. My stories are so character driven that it’s hard just to pick one character that was the easiest to write. I probably don’t have just one, but I can tell you Constantine is probably my favorite. Constantine happens to be a 5000 year old talking cat from Ancient Egypt who works for Death training the Interns. He is bossy, in your face and he says exactly what he thinks and does what he wants. Constantine is a mixture of my mom’s personality and my cat. Pretty much the two being that can still boss me around at my age, LOL. Do I have a character that was the hardest to write? Not exactly. My two angels, Nakir and Samael, were probably the hardest to find their voice. I decided to set these series of short stories in the Intern Universe, and my poor angels were overtaken by all the other characters, including Constantine. It wasn’t until the adventures took them away from Texarkana and the Reaper’s Crew that their true personalities came alive. Having two angels hunt demons in human form with very little angelic powers has been exciting to write.

Follow me everywhere: https://linktr.ee/StarsBooksAndTea

One thought on “Author Spotlight: DC Gomez

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s